Football news

CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup 2019: Besong Releases South Sudan 21 Man Squad

Peter Maker Manyang clearing the ball from the Malawi opponent

The South Sudan national football head coach Ashu Cyprian Besong has released his 22 man squad that will feature in the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup 2019 edition.

The regional competition is scheduled to start on the 7th to 19th November 2019 in Kampala Uganda with specific venues yet to be announced.

The Squad is composed of eight locally and fourteen foreign based players, the locally based players predominantly from Amarat United FC have commenced training immediately as the foreign based are expected to join the team before the kick off their group B matches.  

Three players from the Uganda Premier League have also been included into the squad among others are Wani Ivan Marcello of Busoga United FC, goal Keeper Rubangakene Emmanuel and forward Wol Makueth Akeen both from Mbarara City FC, the other inclusion is Musa Ramathan Farajala who came out through his twitter page to reject the inclusion into the squad after claiming he is not a South Sudanese and will not be ready to feature in any game. However Besong is yet to reveal who will likely be his replacement.

South Korea central defender based at Goyang Citizens FC Pal Paul Puk Kun and Kariobangi Sharks FC center back John Kuol Chol has also been included after missing the opening group B Total Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) Qualifiers against Malawi and Burkina Faso in November 2019. The defense line will be rejuvenated by Biashara United FC defender Yassir Khemis Duku.

The CECAFA tournament brings together teams from within the region which includes Uganda, Kenya (defending Champions), Tanzania, Somalia, Sudan, and Burundi among others.

Rwanda is the only CECAFA Country which has pulled out of the tournament due to financial constrains. It is the second time Rwanda have failed to participate in the regional event, including the just concluded CECAFA Women’s Senior Challenge Cup 2019.  

South Sudan is pooled in group B alongside DRC Congo, Sudan and Somalia.

Here is the 22 Man Squad

Goal Keepers: (3) Tagot Paul ( Atlabara FC Juba) , Michael Marko (Amarat United FC), Rubangakene Emmanuel (Mbarara City FC).

Defenders: (6) John Koul Chol (Kariobangi Sharks FC, Kenya), Peter Maker Manyanga (Amarat United FC, South Sudan), Deng Deng Santino (Rainbow FC, Juba South Sudan), Yassir Khemis Duku ( Biashara United FC, Tanzania), David Omot Sebit (Al Merreikh Juba, South Sudan), Musa Ramathan Farajala (KCCA FC, Uganda). Pal Paul Puk Kun (Goyang Citizens FC, South Korea).

Midfielders: (6) Thok Koang Kerjok (Al Hilal Kadougli, Sudan), Dominic Abui Pretino (Al Khartoum, Sudan), Sebit AJak (Al Fallah FC, Sudan), Wani Ivan Marcello (Busoga United FC, Uganda), Jose Kuch Nyuar (Amarat United FC, South Sudan). Dominic Angelo Kornelio (Munuki FC Juba, South Sudan).

Forwards: (5) Agwa Okout Obiech ( Byasen FC, Norway),  Makueth Wol Akeen (Mbarara City FC, Uganda). David Majak Chan (Tusker FC, Kenya). Taban Makoii Sunday (Springvale White Eagles FC Australia), Stephen Pawaar Loli (Amarat United FC, South Sudan)

Hits: 127

share on Facebookshare on Twitter

Leave a Response