CECAFA-CUP 2019: South Sudan Group B Opponents D.R Congo Pulled Out Due To Financial Challenges

DRC Players Celebrating a goal Photo: Courtesy

Reports’ emanating from Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) is that the country’s national senior team has pulled out of the 2019 Council of Central and East Africa Football Association (CECAFA) tournament.

According to reliable sources, information received by a local radio station Okapi Radio is that the government is not ready to finance the ninth trip of the Leopards. No round has been unblocked for the Leopards during the CHAN Cameroon 2020 qualification and the friendly matches played in October 2019 with Algeria and France

D.R Congo was invited to the 2019 Council of Council of Central and East Africa Football Association (CECAFA) scheduled in Uganda from 7th to 19th December 2019, as a guest team. However the Leopards have pulled out due to financial constraints.  Earlier on Rwanda who pulled out due to financial challenge according to CECAFA and was not included into the group stages, however of late Ethiopia also confirmed they will not take part due to finance constrains.  

Due to the pulling out of the two countries, ten (10) countries including host Uganda, Burundi, Eritrea, Sudan, South Sudan, Somalia, Kenya Tanzania, Djibouti and Zanzibar are now in position to take part in the 40th edition of the  2019 CECAFA Men’s Senior Challenge Cup.

The Leopards were pulled in group B alongside Sudan, South Sudan and Somalia and were supposed to open their group B matches against the Bright Stars of South Sudan before meeting Somalia and the then concludes with Sudan.

The list of 23 selected for this competition having been published, the rally should be Monday, December 2 in Kinshasa, for a departure after three days for Kampala

These were the 23 man squad summoned

D.R Congo Players with the players celebrating a goal during an AFCON game.

Goal Keepers: Jackson Lunanga (AS V.club), Esdras Kabamba (AC Rangers), Charles Lawu (CS Don Bosco)

Defenders: Ntambwe Kalonji (CS Don Bosco), Jonathan Buanga (FC Renaissance), Steven Ebuela (AS Maniema Union, Binemo Lebeau (FC Saint Eloi Lupopo), Tresor Tshibuabua (FC Saint Eloi Lupopo), Zola Kiaku ( TP Mazembe), Herve Ndonga (CS Don Bosco), Nzungu Mafuana (FC Renaissance)

Midfielders: Beverly Makangila (FC Saint Eloi Lupopo), Teji Lutonadio (AS Maniema Union), Mussa Haruna (AS Maniema Union), Twite Patient (JS Bazano Group), Sudi Gondry (FC Saint Eloi Lupopo), Waka Bofafaka (FC Renaissance)

Attackers: Joel Beya (CS Don Bosco), Bola Lobota Emmanuel (AS V.club), Nzau Mbuangi Ginola (AS Maniema Union), Kasongo Munani (RCK), Ntumba Libanza (RCK), Kabwe wa Bantu Eric (Lubumbashi sport)

Hits: 121

share on Facebookshare on Twitter

Leave a Response