Football news

South Sudan Withdraws From CECAFA 2019 Tournament

South Sudan National Team in 2016 after beating Djibouti 6-0 at Juba Stadium in AFCON Preliminary.

The South Sudan Football Association (SSFA) through the President has confirmed that the national team “Bright Stars” has withdrawal from the regional CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup 2019 which begins on Saturday, 7 to Thursday 19th December 2019.

According to the President of the Football Association, the team was withdrawn due to financial constraints, “The Organizers sent us letters to pay the 20,000 USD for our team to participate in the 40th edition of the CECAFA Men’s Senior Challenge Cup 2019, however we don’t have that money” says Amin.

I went to the Minister before she could leave for Paris submitting my request if the Ministry can unveil the association the required 20,000 USD, but the minister confirmed that at the moment there is no available money so we were not left with on option other but to withdraw from the competition Amin further said.

This year’s competition, which comprised of participants from East Africa region and one guest team, will be held in Uganda from the aforementioned dates

This will be the first time South Sudan will not be taking part in the Men’s CECAFA regional competition since its admission in 2012, with the last being in 2017 when South Sudan took part in Kenya losing two and drawing one that year.

South Sudan’s decision to withdraw from the soon-to-commence competition means their highly-anticipated encounter with Sudan for the second time will not be going ahead as expected.

Democratic Republic of Congo (D.R.C), Ethiopia are some of the latest teams to withdraw from the competition citing financial challenges.

Twelve (12) of the locally based South Sudan national team players had started nonresidential training on Monday 2nd December 2019 at DR Biar Sports Complex, now with this information, they will be told to depart to their respective clubs.

CECAFA in its latest groups and fixtures released, only nine teams will be eligible to take part in the competition, with host Uganda, Burundi, Eritrea, Somalia and Djibouti all pooled in group A, while Tanzania, Sudan, Kenya (defending Champions) and Zanzibar pooled in group B.    

Hits: 304

share on Facebookshare on Twitter

Leave a Response