Other sport news

FIFA Women World Cup Qualifiers 2020 Preliminary Round: South Sudan U-20 Women National Team To Play Algeria U-20

The South Sudan National Women Team in a group photo.

The South Sudan Football Association (SSFA) has registered the South Sudan U-20 Women’s national football team for the 2020 Preliminary FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup qualifiers.

The South Sudan U-20 team which is yet to have a technical bench will be preparing to play in the 2020 preliminary qualifiers as their second outing after 6 years down the road. The Bright Starlets for the first time took part in the recently concluded CECAFA Women Senior Challenge Cup winning one and lost two.

The Bright Starlets will face Algeria at the preliminary first round stage in CAF Qualifiers for the 2020 FIFA U-20 World Cup Women Championship. The first leg fixtures will be played between 17th, 18th, or 19th January 2020 with the second leg to be played between 31st January, 1st or 2nd February 2020 with the winner on aggregate taking on either Egypt or Morocco in a date yet to be communicated by CAF.

It should be noted that the South Sudan Women U-20 team was established in 2013 and played Uganda Women’s U-20 team in the 2014 FIFA U-20 Women World Cup and bowed out in 22-0 aggregate humiliating results, after the first leg ended 13-0, before an away humiliation of 9-0 of the second leg of the preliminary qualifiers.

Africa will have only two representatives at the final tournament which will be held either in Nigeria or Costa Rica and Panama (joint Bit) in a date yet to be determined by FIFA. In 2018 Africa was represented by Ghana and Nigeria respectively. The 2020 host will be determined by FIFA in January 2020.

The 2020 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup will be the 10th edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup, the biennial international women’s youth football championship contested by the under-20 national teams of the member associations of FIFA, since its inception in 2008.

Japan National Women U-20 team are the defending champions having won the title in 2018, after beating Spain 3-1 on 24th August 2018 at Stade de la Rabine Vannes Stadium in France.

Hits: 159

share on Facebookshare on Twitter

Leave a Response