African SportsFootball News

“Don’t Take South Sudan For Granted” Uganda Cranes Skipper Onyango Warns

Cranes Goalkeeper Denis Onyango during a national duty.

As Uganda Cranes start their week-long or so training camp in Dubai this week, qualifying for the 2021 Afcon finals – pushed to 2022 -, is one thing they hope to sort out as quickly as possible.

However Uganda Cranes goalkeeper who also doubles as the team captain has warned his team mates to not take South Sudan for granted ““So we should prepare well and be ready for the fight against our neighbours, because they are a strong team.” says Onyango. 

Yet, McKinstry, 35, knows that back-to-back victories over Fifa’s youngest member, South Sudan, would all but seal Uganda’s third successive qualification if results between Malawi and Burkina Faso correspond. Denis Onyango, knows Uganda’s neighbours well. But the Mamelodi Sundowns number one goal stopper also warns against complacency.

The Uganda Cranes coach recently summoned a team of 26 players and 14 officials who are expected to fly out to Dubai today Monday 5th October 2020. Meanwhile, McKinstry earlier said at least four foreign-based players will not join the team due to travel restrictions because of Covid-19.

The players from those countries where travel restrictions are still very tight are Chicago Fire’s (US) midfielder Mike Azira, Hapoel’s forward Luwagga Kizito, and Ashdod duo of defender Timothy Awany and striker Fahad Bayo (Israel).

Cranes Team to Dubai

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango Mamelodi Sundowns FC, Salim M. Jamal Al Hilal Omdurman FC , Joel Mutakubwa, Kyetume FC , Charles Lukwago KCCA FC

Defenders: Joseph Ochaya, TP Mazembe, Alex Kakuba, Desportivo De Piedade, Elvis Bwomono; Southend, Nicholas Wadada; Azam, Bevis Mugabi; Motherwell, Samuel Kato;   KCCA FC, Halid Lwaliwa; Vipers SC, Patrick Mbowa; URA FC

Midfielders; Shafiq Kagimu URA, Karim Watambala; Vipers SC, Saidi Kyeyune URA FC, Allan Kateregga; Erbil FC, Farouk Miya; Konyaspor, Allan Kyambadde; El Gouna, Ibrahim Orit; Vipers SC, Jayden Onen Reading FC, David Owori; SC Villa, Bright Anukani; KCCA FC

Forwards; Derrick Nsibambi; Smouha FC, Milton Karisa; Vipers SC , Alexis Bbakka; Umea, Edrisa Lubega; Paide Linnameeskond.


Ronnie Kalema    Leader of Delegation

Johnny McKinstry     Head coach

Abdallah Mubiru    Assistant Coach

Livingston Mbaabzi    Assistant Coach

Ibrahim Mugisha    Goalkeeping Coach

Alex McCarthy    Fitness Trainer

Felix Ayobo   Sport Scientist

Emma Nakabago    Doctor

Regan I. Baluku    Doctor

Samuel Mulondo    Kitman

Ayub Balyejusa    Kitman

Geoffrey Massa    Team manager

Paul Mukatabala    Team officer

Ronald Lusulire     Media Officer

Hits: 257

share on Facebookshare on Twitter

Leave a Response

error: Content is protected !!