Malawi Flames Head Coach Names 29 Local Based Players For AFCON Qualifiers Game Against South Sudan

Malawi Flames Locally based players training Photo: FAM

Malawi Flames head coach Meck Mwase has named a 29- man squad of local based players who have now gone into camping since Tuesday 16th February 2021 in preparation for next month’s 2022 AFCON qualifying matches against South Sudan and Uganda.

Head Coach of Malawi

The players who reported for camping at the Mpira Village in Blantyre on Tuesday evening underwent fitness and medical tests on Wednesday with training starting on Thursday 18th February 2021

According to FAM, the team is expected to remain in camp until March 18, when Mwase will name the final squad for the match against South Sudan Bright Stars.

The Flames will play South Sudan away on March 24, before hosting Uganda’ Cranes on Monday March 29 at the Kamuzu Stadium.

The two matches are Flame’s must win if the Mwase side are to qualify for the 2022 AFCON. The Flame are third in the group with four points, four behind leaders Burkina Faso and three behind second placed Uganda. South Sudan are bottom placed with just three points.

It should be noted that Malawi beat South Sudan 1-0 at Kamuzu Stadium in their first group B encounter of the Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers 2021. 

South Sudan head coach earlier this month called up 23 locally based players to prepare ahead of the Malawi game which will be played in Khartoum Sudan according to the South Sudan Football Association. 

Below Is The Full Squad:


Bright Munthali (Silver Strikers), William Thole (Mighty Wanderers), Ernest Kakhobwe (Nyasa Big Bullets), Charles Thom (Silver Strikers), Jailosi Kapalamula (MAFCO).

DEFENDERS: Stanley Sanudi (Be Forward Wanderers), Peter Cholopi  (Mighty Wanderes), Precious Sambani (Nyasa Big Bullets), Nickson Nyasulu (Nyasa Big Bullets), Paul Ndhlovu (MAFCO), Elick Kawonga ,(Ekwendeni Hammers),Mark Fodya (Silver Strikers)

MIDFIELDERS: Chimwemwe Idana (Nyasa Big Bullets), Chikoti Chirwa (Red Lions), Rafick Namwera (Mighty Wanderers), Felix Zulu (Mighty Wanderers),Vitumbiko Kumwenda (Mighty Wanderers),Duncan Nyoni (Silver Strikers), Micium Mhone ( Blue Eagles),Chimango Kayira(Nyasa Big Bullets),Patrick Banda (Ekwendeni Hammers), Mphatso Magaleta (Ntopwa)

STRIKERS: Hassan Kajoke (Nyasa Big Bullets), Stain Davie  (Silver Strikers) Maxwell Mpodo (Silver Strikers), Loyo Bokosi (Red Lions),Vincent Nyangulu (Mighty Wanderers), Raphael Phiri (CIVO).

Hits: 110

share on Facebookshare on Twitter

Leave a Response

error: Content is protected !!