South Sudan National Women League 2021

Yei Join Stars FC wins 2021 South Sudan Women’s League Title

The Join Stars Holding their Trophy at Buluk Training Center on 31st May 2021

The Yei Join Stars FC are the champions of the inaugural 2021 South Sudan Women’s League.

The Yei side lifted the title on Sunday after defeating Wau Female Team 4-0 wrap up in their last League game, Kilega Eunice opened the scoring on the 7th minutes to end the first half 1-0, sensational Mary Dawa proved her ability in the second half and scored 2 goals before team captain Winny Ayikoru make it 4-0.

“We are so delighted to have organized a competitive inaugural Women’s League. We shall keep working hard to make it better and better,” said Francis Amin Michael, president of the South Sudan Football Association (SSFA).

Yei Join Stars who will now represent South Sudan in the CECAFA Zonal qualifiers for the inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League finished the League with 33 points, losing only one game in the 14 played.

Torit Women FC finished in second place with 26 points, while Bentiu United Women FC came third with 23 points. The League attracted eight teams from different parts of the country.

Juba Super Stars attacker Amy Lasu Ropani finished as the top scorer with 11 goals, while Goves Jacinta (Yambio Women FC) and Deborah Adut (Yei Join Stars) netted 9 goals.

Juba Super Stars forward Amy Lasu Ropani standing with her award.

Bentiu United FC captain Chiang Thomas was awarded the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the season, while Juba Super Stars FC goal keeper Khalda Hassan won the best goal keeper of the league.

Bentiu United Women FC captain Chiang Thomas standing with her award on Sunday 31st May 2021
Khalda Hassan the Juba Super Stars FC goal keeper standing with her accolade

It should be noted that the first ever South Sudan National Women’s league kicked off on the 20th February 2021 and end on 30th May 2021, the league attracted 240 players with 8 coaches and out of which 3 are female, with Sony Harriet Alfred winning the trophy with the Yei Join Stars FC.

Yei Join Stars FC also did not only won the title but went home with a cash award of 3,000 USD, while second placed Torit Women FC were awarded a cash value of 2,000 USD for being second on the league.

Hits: 81

Leave a Response

error: Content is protected !!