Africa Women Football

Zonal Qualifiers To Determine The Final 8 Of CAF Women’s Champions League

CAF-HQ Courtesy Photo

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has confirmed that Zonal qualifiers will be used to determine the eight finalists for the inaugural CAF women champions league scheduled for 2021.

On Thursday evening after the Executive committee meeting, the Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) confirmed that six CAF zones will organise qualifiers that will be used to determine the finalists of next year’s CAF WCL.

Each zone will have one representative at the final tournament with the other representative coming from the host regional federation of the host club. One team will be added by CAF to complete the total eight teams.

“ For the maiden tournament, the zonal union of the host country will have two representatives however for the next editions, the host country shall have only one representative and the zonal union of the defending champions will have two teams,” quoted CAF online.

It is not clear if South Sudan who is yet to start a club Women’s league will have teams that will compete in the Zonal Qualifiers. South Sudan is in the Central-East Zone alongside, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Somalia, Eritrea, Djibouti and Uganda. 

The finalists will be grouped in two groups consisting of four team each for the inaugural competition schedule to happen annually

The CAF zones
  1. North Zone
  2. West Zone A
  3. West Zone B
  4. Central Zone
  5. Central-East Zone
  6. Southern Zone

Hits: 33

share on Facebookshare on Twitter

Leave a Response

error: Content is protected !!