CECAFA U23 CHALLENGE CUP 2021: Dhata To Miss South Sudan, Djibouti Encounter

Dhata Stephen (20) while preparing to take a free kick against Kenya Photo: SSFA Media Team.

South Sudan National U23 and Vipers Sports Club right back Dhata Joseph Stephen will miss the last CECAFA U-23 group C encounter against Djibouti on Saturday 21st July 2021. 

According to reports from the South Sudan U23 camp in Bahir Dar, Dhata sustained a knee injury during the first group C match against Kenya and did not train with the team for two days. However he will be available for selection in the next game as per the assessment from the technical team. 

During the match against Kenya, Dhata Joseph Stephen had his long shot saved by Kenya’s goalkeeper Brian Bwire Okoth after 36 minutes, Kenya won the encounter by 2-0. 

South Sudan will takes on Djibouti at the Bahir Dar Stadium at 10:45 Am Central Africa Time (11:45) East Africa Time, this is a must win for the Young Stars if they are to progress into the semi finals and according to the team’s technical team, the boys are set to get the most wanted win. 

Kenya who have so far registered 2 wins are the group C top occupants, with South Sudan second and Djibouti as 3rd. Kenya will now face off Burundi in one of the semi final fixtures. 

Coach James Simon Yor will now look at the services of Munuki FC Juba lanky right back Rehan Angier Malong as Dhata’s replacement at the right back position. 

Simon is looking for a different approach against Djibouti and will likely introduce attacking minded players who will have to score three (3) goals before the half time whistle. 

The last time the two countries met each other should be dated back to 28th March 2017 when South Sudan Bright Stars beat Djibouti 6-0 at Juba National Stadium in an AFCON preliminary qualification round, coach Bilal Felix Komoyange was on the touchline that evening. 

Probable Starting for South Sudan Young Stars  

  1. Ramadan John Mayik 
  2. Rehan Angier Malong 
  3. Omot Sebit 
  4. Kornelio Angelo 
  5. Mutwakil Abdelkarim Abkar 
  6. Dominic Angelo Kornelio 
  7. Mandela Malish Stephen 
  8. William Gama Emmanuel 
  9. Data Elly Christopher 
  10.  Lual Daniel Gumnok 
  11.  George Augustino Ladu

Hits: 57

Leave a Response

error: Content is protected !!