CECAFA GamesFootball news

CECAFA Confirms Kagame Cup 2021 Dates

The Council of East and Central Africa Football Associations (CECAFA) has confirmed that the CECAFA Kagame Cup 2021 will take place August 1-15 in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

Auka Gecheo, the CECAFA Executive Director said the draw for the regional tournament played between the top clubs will be conducted on July 27th.

Auka Geche CEO (L) sitting alongside Wallace Karia (R) the CECAFA President

“This tournament will help our teams in the region prepare for the CAF competitions that start in September. We shall also have a guest team from Malawi to spice up the tournament,” added Gecheo. South Sudan will be represented by Atlabara FC Juba, the 2021 South Sudan Cup Champions, although the club is yet to confirm it’s participation. 

Atlabara FC Team pose for group photo before taking on Munuki FC Juba Photo: Bway Isaac

Atlabara FC Juba beat Salam FC Kuajok 2-0 to lift the 2021 South Sudan Cup, Mandela Malish scored all the two goals for the Bara Boyz. The last time Atlabara FC Juba took part in the same competition was in 2019 when they drew (1-1) against KMC FC of Tanzania Peter Sunday Makoi was the goal scorer for the Bara Boyz, however the team went on to lose to TP Mazembe of DRC 6-1, Rayon Sport of Rwanda 2-0. 

Atlabara FC versus Coton Sport in 2017 in Yaounde

CECAFA CEO Gecheo also confirmed that Malawi Premier League side Big Bullets FC will take part in the tournament as a guest team.

While Simba SC who reached the quarter final stage of the CAF 2020/2021 TotalEnergies Champions League will miss the regional competition, Young Africans and Azam FC will represent Tanzania.

KCCA FC beat Azam FC to lift the Kagame Cup in 2019. Last year the tournament did not take place after the COVID-19 pandemic affected most sporting activities including football.

Atlabara FC Juba celebrating their trophy. Photo: SSFA Media Team.

Teams confirmed for Kagame Cup 2021:

Young Africans SC, Azam FC (Tanzania), Altabara FC Juba (South Sudan), Le Messager Ngozi FC (Burundi), APR (Rwanda), Express FC, KCCA FC (Uganda), Tusker FC (Kenya), KMKM SC (Zanzibar), Big Bullets FC (Malawi).

Hits: 32

Leave a Response

error: Content is protected !!